This is the "Home" page of the "The George Meany Memorial Archives Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The George Meany Memorial Archives Library  

This is the home page for the George Meany Memorial Archives Library of the National Labor College (NLC). It provides information of use to the faculty and students of the NLC as well as others interested in labor research.
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2013 URL: http://libguides.nlc.edu/gmma Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Alert

The library is in transition and research access to its collection is temporarily closed. Visit the AFL-CIO’s website (www.aflcio.org) in October for details about future research access.

 

Library Hours

Regular library hours are as follows: (excluding holidays)

Monday–Friday: 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Closed on Saturdays and Sundays

Welcome to the Library

The George Meany Memorial Archives Library of the National Labor College

Originally the American Federation of Labor (AFL) Library, the George Meany Memorial Archives Library was established in 1916 by the AFL Executive Council. When the AFL merged with the Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO) in 1955, the library was renamed The AFL-CIO Library.  In June 1993, the AFL-CIO Library moved from the headquarters of the AFL-CIO in Washington D.C. to the campus of the George Meany Center for Labor Studies in Silver Spring, Maryland and was thus renamed The George Meany Memorial Archives Library.

The George Meany Center for Labor Studies received accreditation from the state of Maryland and the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and was renamed The National Labor College. The George Meany Memorial Archives Library retained its name. With the establishment of the National Labor College in 1998, the library became the campus library and has continued to support the needs of the students, faculty and staff of the college.

 

  Send Us Your Feedback

We welcome your feedback on this guide.  Let us know what you think and how we can improve library services in this area.  Thank you.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


My Profile

Profile Image
Jannie R. Cobb
Contact Info
Director of Library Services
George Meany Memorial Archives Library
National Labor College
10000 New Hampshire Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20903
Send Email
 

GMMA Library QR

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip